Germany travel restrictions: 35 more countries added to high-risk list

Travelers from 35 other world countries will be subject to stricter entry restrictions when traveling to Germany from Sunday, January 16, as these countries have been added to the high-risk list.

Reporting on the COVID-19 situation abroad, Germany’s agency for disease prevention and control, the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), added the following 35 countries to its high-risk list on Friday, January 14:

  1. Albania
  2. Antigua and Barbuda
  3. Equatorial Guinea
  4. Benin
  5. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  6. Bulgaria
  7. Burkina Faso
  8. Costa Rica
  9. The Dominican Republic
  10. Djibouti
  11. Eritrea
  12. France – the French Overseas Territory of St. Pierre and Miquelon
  13. Gambia
  14. Guinea-Bissau
  15. Guyana
  16. Colombia
  17. Latvia
  18. Liberia
  19. Madagascar
  20. Netherlands – the overseas part of the Kingdom of Sint Maarten Netherlands
  21. Niger
  22. North Macedonia
  23. Austria – excluding the municipalities of Mittelberg and Jungholz and the Rissdal in the municipalities of Vomp and Eben am Achensee
  24. Peru
  25. The Philippines
  26. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  27. Lucia
  28. Vincent and the Grenadines
  29. Sao Tome and Principe
  30. Senegal
  31. Serbia
  32. Somalia
  33. Suriname
  34. Chad
  35. The Central African Republic

Just last week, a total of 39 world countries had been added to the German list of risk areas, including Australia, Estonia, Iceland, Sweden, Rwanda and the United Arab Emirates.

Travelers from countries from high risk areas are subject to additional travel restrictions. According to the RKI, everyone is obliged to register at and have the confirmation with them when entering Germany.

The confirmation is checked by the carrier and can also be checked by the Federal Police as part of its responsibilities as a border control agencythe agency explains.

At the same time, all travelers from risk areas aged six years or older must present a negative test result or proof of vaccination or recovery to be eligible for entry into the country.

Travelers who have spent time in a risk area must go directly to their home on arrival and remain isolated for ten days (home quarantine)”, also notes the RKI, explaining that the quarantine can be ended once the travelers have updated their vaccination or recovery certificate on If the evidence is uploaded before it reaches Germany, no quarantine is needed.

However, those entering Germany on the basis of a COVID-19 test cannot end the quarantine until the fifth day of isolation, when they must retest. They can only leave the quarantine after the negative test results are known and updated on

The expansion of the high-risk COVID-19 list has happened because of the widespread variant of the Omicron virus. As a more transmissible variant, Omicron has caused the number of COVID-19 cases to rise worldwide.

Data from the World Health Organization (WHO) shows that Germany alone has registered 381,568 new cases of COVID-19 in the past seven days. The number of new cases of COVID-19 reported worldwide during the same period is 18,493,799.

>> All countries in the EU/Schengen area continue to be hard hit by COVID-19, EU health agency shows

Leave a Comment